Calouste Gulbenkian Museum

The Calouste Gulbenkian Museum brings together the most impressive private collections of the world

View the artworks by Renoir, Monet, Degas and a unique collection of Lalique jewelry at Calouste Gulbenkian Museum


The Calouste Gulbenkian Museum was opened in October 1969 followed up the wish expressed in the will of Calouste Gulbenkian, Armenian businessmanof the  oil industry, settled in Portugal in the mid-twentieth century and gathered, throughout his life an incredible and extensive art collection.


The parts of the permanent exhibition of the collector are distributed by two independent circuits. The first is dedicated to oriental and classical art and has Egyptian art pieces, Greco-Roman, Islamic art and the art of China and Japan. The other circuit is devoted to the European art, with pieces from the XI century to the XX century.


Among the 6,500 pieces acquired by Calouste Gulbenkian, there are works by Rembrandt, Renoir, Rubens, Monet, Degas and Van Dyck, among other artists, as well as textiles, tableware and a Lalique jewelry collection. Several of these works were purchased at the Hermitage Museum of St. Petersburg, including the famous sculpture of Diana (on the photo).


The original idea of the Armenian founder was to create a museum in London, which did not happen because when the 2nd World War burst, Gulbenkian had to move to Lisbon. In 1953, the Armenian businessman stated in his will, to leave his works exhibited in the Portuguese capital and thus a foundation in his name was created, as well as the Calouste Gulbenkian Museum, which opened in 1969.


Currently the Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian is one of the most important institutions of Portugal and the museum is a must for anyone visiting Lisbon. This is part of an architectural complex consisting of the head office building of the foundation, the Modern Art Centre and an outdoor amphitheater placed in the famous gardens of the Gulbenkian.



Address: Bern Avenue 45A, 1067-001 Lisboa

Telephone: +351217823000

Opening Times: 10:00 - 18:00 (closed on Tuesdays)